Mother’s Day Sun Catcher Craft

With Mother’s Day fast approaching (it’s this Sunday if anyone needs to remind their hubby’s) I was in need of a fun craft that my son could make for our favourite moms.  So off to Pinterest I went, and came across this quick, easy, and cheap craft.

A couple years go we did the hand print stepping stones, last year (I’m not going to lie) I think I completely lost track of time and forget to put anything together. This year I decided on these nice and simple sun catchers.

Clark had fun picking out what cookie cutter he wanted to use, and filling the pan with beads.  In the post I found she made her brothers arrange the beads sitting all on the flat sides, Clark wouldn’t have the patience for that, and I didn’t feel like going through the beads one by one to fix them, so we just left them the way they fell.

So if you need a quick last minute gift idea, give these a try!

Pony beads
Cake pan
Cookie cutters (optional)

– Preheat your oven to 400 degrees
– Put the beads in to your cake pan. Don’t worry about non-stick spray or anything, once it ha cooled down completely it will slide right out of the cake pan. We made 3 different sun catchers, one with a heart, one with a bear, and one with an ice cream cone.
– Back in the oven for 20-30 minutes (depending on how many you’re making at a time)

DSC_9660
– Let the plastic cool complete and remove from cake pan. The post I found said that she’s seen some people have drilled small holes to put a string or ribbon through to hang them.  But I copied her and put the cookie cutters up high enough so we could just use the shapes to hang them.

DSC_9667

DSC_9671DSC_9669

Leave a Reply

