Greek Tortellini Salad and my version

Do you need a recipe for a large pot luck? Something that a ton of people will enjoy, but super simple to make? Do I ever have a recipe for you!

So allrecipes.ca is one of my all time favorite sites to visit, when I am stuck for something to make for dinner. I have never been let down, by this site, and use it at least 10 times a month.

For Easter, I made a variation of this recipe that I had always wanted to make, because it looks amazing, and hearty.

Before I give you the recipe, and my version, I wanted you to understand just how many people this will feed.

Easter weekend, we had 41 people at my In Law’s for sugaring off… and then Easter Sunday we had 21. We still had left overs… and everyone, had 1 spoonful at least. This is a recipe you can cut down, and make a smaller version of, or you can make a huge one.

Ali’s Greek Tortellini Salad’s recipe is as follows:

Original recipe makes 8 servings Change Servings

2 (9 ounce) packages cheese tortellini
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 eggs
1 pound baby spinach leaves
1 cup crumbled feta cheese
1/2 cup slivered red onion

Directions

Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add tortellini, and cook for 7 minutes or until al dente; drain.
In a large bowl, mix the olive oil, lemon juice, red wine vinegar, parsley, oregano, and salt. Place the cooked tortellini in the bowl, and toss to coat. Cover, and chill at least 2 hours in the refrigerator.
Place eggs in a saucepan with enough water to cover, and bring to a boil. Remove from heat, and allow eggs to sit in the hot water for 10 to 12 minutes. Drain, cool, peel, and quarter.
Gently mix the spinach, feta cheese, and onion into the bowl with the pasta. Arrange the quartered eggs around the salad to serve.

FULL CREDIT goes to: Jamie Hensley 

Bonnie’s Greek Tortellini Salad: For a Large Group

2 Double packages of Cheese Tortellini (I used Classico – fresh)

1 Jar of sun dried tomatoes

1 Jar of roasted red peppers (there was 3 in it)

1 jar of black olives (cut)

1/4 package of spinach (sliced, or shredded)

1 white onion (finely diced)

1 package of cherry tomatoes (cut in half)

1 package of sliced carrots (I used the match stick ones)

6 baby cucumbers (sliced – they were tiny)

1/4 cup of Greek dressing

Crumbled feta on the side.

Directions:

Set your pasta to boil, (See Jamie’s instructions above)

Cut up all your veg, and canned veg, make everything into small bite size pieces, with the exception of white onion, make that a fine dice. Put all the ingredients in one bowl and mix as you keep adding, getting the sun dried tomato oil, and the roasted red pepper, and olive juice mixed in with your fresh veg. If things are a bit dry, don’t be afraid to put the some of the sun dried tomato oil, or olive juice in.

Once the pasta is done, and cooled, mix everything together. I reserved about 1/4 of the pasta, and placed it in a plastic bag to have extra just in case – and believe me I needed it.

I actually only put about 4 table spoons of dressing on just before serving, and no one put more on. I placed the dressing on the side of the bowl with the feta. I personally believe that the cheese in the pasta was enough, but a lot of people liked having it as well.

The spinach I should note, I added last, I cut them up into ribbons and transported it to my in-laws separately, I didn’t want it to wilt too much.

This dish will work very well on a summer’s night, dining alfresco, or even for a picnic.

I hope you enjoy! And please check out allrecipes.ca for more amazing recipes!

Leave a Reply

