Recipe Alert! 7Up Grilled Chicken

On the weekend Bonnie and I were lucky enough to find some time and have agree day at the same time. So Bonnie and her hubby came down to see us and meet her darling God-daughter.

We worked out he timing so they’d be down around lunch time and I had everything ready by the time they got here.  We decided to go with a nice light lunch of grilled chicken and pasta salad. We always like to try new recipes with each ther so off to Pinterest I ran! This was what caught my eye and intrigued me.

7Up Grilled Chicken

2 cups 7Up
1 cup Soy Sauce
1 cup Oil
2 tsp garlic powder
4-6 chicken breast

DSC_9194

1. Mix the 7Up, soy sauce, oil and garlic powder to make the marinade.
DSC_9196

2. Place chicken breast in a deep dish (like a casserole dish). The dish should be deep enough that the chicken will be almost all (if not all) submerged in the marinade.
DSC_9195

3. Pour marinade over chicken breast. Place in fridge and let sit for at least 10 hours.

DSC_9207

I made it at about 9pm Friday night and it hit the grill at 12:45pm Saturday afternoon.

DSC_9209

The blog that I found the recipe on said that this as a strictly outdoor grill recipe only, when she tried it inside but as the marinade dripped on to the pan (she used a grill pan) it ended up smoking up her house like crazy.

When I mentioned to Bonnie what I was making, we both seemed to have the same reaction “could be interesting…” Well much to our surprise, it was delicious. I got pretty lucky.

Like I said I paired it with a pasta salad but it could go with anything really, potatoes, veggies, it’d be great on a bun as a sandwich.  If you give it a try I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Leave a Reply

