Happy St. Patrick’s Day – Dinner ideas

So, St. Patrick’s day is just around the corner, and this holiday always baffles me. I am 1/4 Irish, and take pride in my heritage, but why have green beer? It just does not make much sense to me.

On that note, as it is on a Tuesday, this year, and lets face it as we get older, and with kids we don’t want to go out and party the whole night away, and then have to go work work the next day. So, I thought giving you come recipes to try out for the holiday might get you in more of an Irish mood, when you are stuck at home!

Guinness or Beer Stew

I’ve made this recipe more than a dozen times, and I have to say it is on my menu this weekend. I am not a huge cabbage fan, but the Colcannon, is amazing, and worth the effort.

Irish Soda Bread

This is a quick and easy companion to your stew, and fresh bread? How the hell can you go wrong with that?

Some other options, that you can find out there for the holiday are, Corned beef, Lamb or beef pie, Irish Shepard’s pie, which is made with lamb instead of beef, and peas instead of corn, with your own personal variations as well.

The dessert options, can be anywhere from cookies to cake, but if I had to chose my ultimate St. Patrick’s day dessert? It would be Guinness and Chocolate cheesecake! and OMG is all I have to say!

Whatever you do, on this upcoming Lucky Tuesday, please enjoy! And if you do indulge in a little bit of an Irish pub crawl, please be safe!

Leave a Reply

