Recipe Alert! Chicken Noodle Soup!

So, it’s winter, and it’s cold, and to be honest I know I am coming down with something. So I wanted soup, and not just any soup, some hearty, chicken noodle soup. So I thought, why the hell don’t I try making it from scratch, and from memory. So this is my personal recipe! I think next time I am going to grab a squash, and put that in, as well as some red peppers, just for some different flavors. Also, there is no chicken broth needed for my soup, so you get to control the salt intake.

What you need:

Chicken – I used about a pound cut up into small thin pieces.

Carrots, onion, celery – chopped and sweated out in about 2 tbs of olive oil.

2 medium potatoes – cubed

Noodles (I used egg noodles, but use whatever you have on hand)

Spices: All to taste

salt, pepper, garlic, oregano, basil, bay leaves, garlic salt, and pepper medley, and garlic medley from club house spices.

1) Poach the chicken, in 4 cups of water

2) Sweat out the veggies. I made to al dente. Once to the point where you want them cooked, add your spices. NO SALT yet. ( I added the potatoes at the end, so they did not get mushy, they were far from done when I added them to the water)

3) Drain the water, from the chicken, and add the chicken to the veggies, stirring around so the chicken can take on some of the spices.

4) Bring 4 cups of water up to a simmer and slowly add the chicken and veggies.

5) Bring to a boil, and let simmer for how ever long it takes to make the veggies soft.

6) Add spices to taste, this is where you can add the salt.

* if at this point you are seeing more of a stew, than a soup, add more water and bring it to a boil. Just remember to adjust your spices.

7) About 10 minutes before serving add in your noodles, bring to a boil and let them cook out.

8) Serve and Enjoy!

unnamed

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

