December Catch Up

Sarah’s December!

So December is a pretty crazy, hectic month for everyone, and it’s certainly no different in my house. Let’s see if I can remember what exactly happened.

The first week of December was the second week my hubby was on his new 8-hour shift at work (which we seriously hate). We ended that week celebrating our nephew’s 6th birthday.

The second week my hubby was forced to take a week of holidays by his work (he had to take his final week of holidays before December 31, it’s a company rule, but we were really hoping they’d let him save it for the end of January for when we’re expecting our daughter to arrive). Since the last week of holidays didn’t work out at all, I was determined to be productive this time. I got all the painting done in the baby’s nursery and got everything all set up so the room is fully functioning which is awesome. We also went and visited my sister-in-law and her fiance in Peterborough at their new apartment on the Tuesday. Over the rest of the days we got the rest of our Christmas shopping done. We even managed to have a nice relaxing day at home on the Wednesday.

The third week hubby was back to work. Clark and I did a bunch of relaxing. On the Thursday we went out and met my sister-in-law to get her dog and cat from her. We were looking after them while she and her fiance went out to Goose Bay, Newfoundland to see his family for Christmas.  Adding an extra dog and cat to the house made for some interesting days, but they were all super fun.

The fourth week started with an awesome trip to Kingston for my annual family Christmas gathering with my dad’s side of the family.  It’s one of the best days because I don’t get to see them all that often, and I feel super lucky to have them in my life.  They were excited to see me at this stage in my pregnancy, it’s a rare occasion that I have a big belly on me, so they were all enjoying poking fun at me, in the most loving way possible. The week continued on with the hubby having to work a couple days. Then Christmas Eve came, and off we went to my in-laws house. My father-in-law had asked us if we would spend Christmas Eve and Christmas Day with them, we didn’t have plans so we said of course. Clark was over the moon to have a sleep over at his Peepaw’s house, and was even more excited Christmas morning when he saw that Santa had come.  The rest of the week we just relaxed and got some more organizing done, put the clothes I had in bins for baby girl in to her armoire.

On Sunday we were back at my in-laws, it was my hubby’s grandmother’s birthday, and it was the first one without her husband (who had passed away on Valentine’s Day) so we went over to just be with her and keep her mind of things. She had loved having Clark around for Christmas so it made easier on her to go through it without her husband. Now the hubby is back to work yesterday and today, but off for the rest of the week. We don’t do anything fun for New Year’s Eve, depending on how the weather is over the next couple days we might make a trip down to Toronto to visit my brother-in-law who wasn’t able to make it down for Christmas this year.

That’s about all that’s happened, on top of appointments with my midwives. So a pretty hectic month, but a lot of fun. January is going to be an even busier and much more exciting month for us. Every week we’ll be heading in to the midwives office for appointments, counting down the days to when Clark’s little sister chooses to make her grand arrival.  Needless to say I’ll be taking some time off from writing in the weeks leading to her birth as well as a couple after she arrives.  But I promise there will be an announcement once she does arrive.

Hope everyone had an amazing holiday season. See you in the new year!

Bonnie’s December

December started off with a bang, while the boyfriend went to New Brunswick to be with family, I was on my first ever business trip.

I have to say, it was an interesting experience. and one I will do again, but I just don’t know if it ever will. It was a really nice change of pace, and I have to say, being able to put the faces to the names, and voices that we hear over the phone and email was the most fascinating and the best part.

The second week, we finished up all the shopping and prepping for Christmas, that we couldn’t get done the last week of November. I think we spent 10 hours out and about, but we got everything finished, and didn’t have to go back out again!

The third week, I had my final exam in HRM in Canada, and I think I did well, but I wont know until the first official week of in January. After my exam, my brother came home for a few days, and we had our annual Christmas party. We did something unusual, for my annual party, and asked for just appetizers for the pot-luck.  I couldn’t do a whole meal like I usually do, it has just gotten to be too much, and when I knew I had to throw the party on a Friday due to my brother’s schedule there was no way, even if it was a small portion let alone a large portion.

The Sunday before Christmas, was my God Son’s second birthday, and we went home to celebrate it with my brother in law and sister in law. They did a wonderful job with the party, and we got some family time in before the party, which I always appreciate.

Christmas was hectic as usual, but we uncomplicated things, by getting a hotel room for Christmas Eve. We had 5 places to be in the course of 2 days, and we made all the parties, and events. We ended the night by going to my in laws like every year, having a nice relaxing Christmas night in front of the wood fire.

We had one more event, a family engagement party, on the last Saturday, we went to Montreal, and enjoyed some family that we would not normally see this time of year. We had a wonderful time, and finally got to relax on the Sunday.

New Year’s eve, we are going to the BFF’s for a low key NYE, I think were either going to cook one heck of a fancy meal, or were going to order in… I am not too sure what just yet.

Otherwise, 2015 is just around the corner, hard to believe, but who knows what it is going to bring. From our families to yours, have a safe and Happy New Year.

new-year-advance-quotes

Photo: http://happy-newyear.co.in/happy-new-year-advance-quotes-2015/
Leave a Reply

