Recipe Alert! One Pan Goulash

I went back through my Pinterest board of main meals to find some dinner for this week.  I came across this one again from the blog My Life of Travels and Adventures.  There’s nothing better than a one pot meal, all the flavours stay together, and there’s only one dish to clean afterwards… win-win in my books.

I just made a half batch, which still gave me more food than I know what to do with, and it was delicious.

Ingredients:

2lb ground beef.
2 tsp garlic salt
4 tbsp oregano
4 tbsp italian seasoning
4 (15oz) cans of tomato sauce (I used a Hot & Spicy tomato sauce to give it a bit of kick)
3 cups of water
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 onion chopped, optional (I omitted the onion because the hubby isn’t a fan, but if you use a plain tomato sauce I would add it for a bit of zing)
1 box elbow macaroni (I used penne, but next time I’ll definitely use macaroni, penne took a bit longer to cook, so the sauce got reduced just a bit too much)

Directions:

1. Brown the ground beef (and onion) in a large pot or deep pan.
2. Add the garlic cloves to the browning beef.
3. Once the beef is fully cooked, add all the other ingredients to the pot.
4.  Stir well and cook over medium heat until boiling.
5. Reduce to a simmer and let cook for 1 hour.
6. Enjoy.

 

It was a great dish, easy to make, and little to clean up. I can see a few different ways to change it up too (my hubby suggested adding some Italian sausage), even using different pasta sauces to throw in some different flavours would be great too.

Leave a Reply

