Recipe Alert! Crock Pot Cheesy Chicken, Bacon, & Tater Tot Bake

So I have to admit when the summer hit I dropped the ball on my New Years Resolution of making a new dish every week.  But I’ll blame that on being pregnant and having no energy and the heightened sense of smell making me feel sick every so often.

When I was making my grocery list for this week I was struggling to come up with dinner ideas so on to Pinterest I went to find something. I had pinned this recipe a while ago and it just sat there. It’s been warm this week so it seemed like a good idea to give this a try so we could have a tasty meal without turning on the oven.  Thank you to Real Housemoms for this delicious dish!

Crock Pot Cheesy Chicken, Bacon, & Tater Tot Bake

  • 1 (32 ounce) bag tater tots
  • 3 ounce crumbled bacon pieces
  • 1 lb skinless chicken breasts
  • 1½ cups grated colby cheese
  • 1½ cups grated monterey jack pepper cheese
  • ¾ cup milk
  • salt and pepper
Instructions
  1. Grease the bottom of the crock pot
  2. Layer ½ the tater tots on the bottom of the pot
  3. Sprinkle ½ of the bacon pieces on top of the tator tots
  4. Combine the two cheeses, and sprinkle ⅓ of it over the bacon and tots
  5. Top cheese with the chicken breasts
  6. Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper to taste
  7. Top chicken with another ⅓ of cheese
  8. Sprinkle with other ½ of the bacon pieces
  9. Add remainder of the tater tots
  10. Top with final ⅓ of the cheese
  11. Pour milk over the top
  12. Set crock pot to high and cook 4-5 hours (3 was perfect for me)

 

So for me. Instead of buying 2 different cheeses I just bought a bag of the pre-shredded stuff and got the Tex Mex because it had the Monterey Jack in it.  That was way easy, and saved me prep time.  I think the only thing I might try different next year, is maybe find some seasoned tater tots, or add some seasoning to them, and use less. The chicken was really flavourful, but I found the tots to be lacking just a little something.  Other than that…it was amazing. Since I bought the pre-shredded cheese there was absolutely no pre-time at all. It was just dump everything in the crock pot and turn it on. She’s right in saying that 3 hours was all it needed.  My son woke up at 7am, I grabbed everything at 7:45am, and by 8am the crock pot was on.  I checked on it at 11am and it was perfect.  It’s a perfect last minute throw together meal.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

