Back to School Shopping

It’s that time of year again when the stores are full of paper, binders and different supplies for going back to school. I myself have registered for a class at our local college this year, and am very excited to continue my education. And on that note we’ve decided to put a list of supplies together for the different age groups going back to School in September.

Elementary School

For the early years (kindergarten to grade 2) there isn’t much you need to supply yourself. My nephew is going in to grade 1, and my niece starts her first year in kindergarten so they don’t need much.  They really only need indoor shoes, a backpack, and a lunch bag.

By the time you hit grade 3 you have to start bringing in a few things.

– Pencil case with pencils, pens, crayons, erasers, pencil sharpener, glue stick
– Small 3 ring binder with loose leaf paper
– Notebook with graph paper
– Calculator (this makes me a little sad, by the time kids reach grade 2 they are allowed to bring a calculator to help with multiplication and division)

When I got to grade 7 and we started having separate teachers for each class, each teacher had their own list of things. Like for gym we had to bring a set of gym clothes to change in to. I liked to keep everything extra organized and had a small 1″ binder fill with paper for each class, it made my bag a little heavy some days when I add in textbooks, but it helped me stay organized.

 

High School and College/University

Paper Supplies

  • Binders or a notebook
    • Depending on if it’s high school or secondary school it might depend on what it is that you want to carry. I have always been a fan of binders, as it’s a lot easier to put things like handouts, and course outlines in a binder than it is in a notebook.
  • Post-it Notes, and tabs
    • Be it page marking, or notes, and reminders you can never go wrong with post-its.
  • Pens, pencils and highlighters
    • Both Sarah and I are pen fanatics, this is up to the individual person going to school. But I recommend the FriXion Pens, as they are erasable, and have a wide range of types. OH and there are erasable highlighters too!
  • A small notebook
    • If you are like me, I like to take notes for different things. If there is a test, and I don’t have my agenda with me, the small notebook can act as a catch all for small notes. Or if I am a bonehead and forget my binder, or am coming from work and going to school, I still have something to write in.
  • Agenda
    • I would be LOST without my agenda! I have a Filofax Personal Malden in Grey, which I guess makes me a bit of a snob when it comes to agenda’s, but I promise you I got it for WAY cheaper than retail price. I use this for work, and will be using it for school to keep track of assignments, and testings, and exams.
  • Index Cards
    •  I personally use these for studying, and memorization.
  • Sharpies – or Any kind of Markers
    • For writing on the index cards, as I find pen isn’t bold enough.

Other Supplies

  • USB drive or a portable hard-drive
    • For transporting papers and assignments without having to lug around your laptop.
  • Headphones
    • To study on campus
  • Laptop or Tablet
    • To write assignments
  • Book-bag, backpack, or a satchel
    • To carry all of the above mentioned

The pain in the butt supplies

  • Textbooks
    • For college students, this is the worst part of school in my opinion. I still cannot believe that they charge you $160.00 for a 400 page textbook. And the e-books are getting just as expensive. Unfortunately it’s is a necessary evil in the secondary school world.
Leave a Reply

