Photography … The Other Love of Our Lives

Sarah and I met in college, and one of the classes that we began our bond in, was an introduction to photography. We had this fantastic teacher, whom we both loved dearly, and taught us more than just how to use a camera.

Sarah and I both use Nikon D40’s an oldie but a goodie. Both Sarah and I love this camera, it dose not do video, or anything fancy that any of the new DSLR’s do, but as one of the salesmen at Henry’s Camera said to me once, “It is one of the best camera bodies that Nikon has ever made.” I also own a Sony Cybershot which I keep in my purse at all times, as you never know when you are going to need a camera. I did have a Nikon Coolpix,but it eventually died on me, and I received the Cybershot as a gift for working for my company for 5 years, so even though I didn’t have the choice I would prefer going to Nikon for any of my camera needs, as I have never been let down by them. (The Coolpix dying was my own fault.) I also use my Iphone quite often, I do carry my Cybershot with me at all times, but digging it out of my purse can have the moment I want to take pass me by, so my phone is always a good option.

Nikon
photo: nikonusa.com
Why Bonnie Loves Photography:
The funny thing, is I cannot stand having my own picture taken, but I love being behind the camera. I might not take the best pictures in the world and I am a total amateur , but I can hold my own. Capturing the special moments in life is one of the best things in the world. I love seeing the beauty in a situation, and capturing the shot forever with my camera.
Why Sarah Loves Photography:
As long as I can remember I’ve always had a camera near by.  But it wasn’t until our college course that I was able to develop some actual skills (I use the word skills loosely).  I’ve had people tell me I should start a business, but no way am I worthy of taking peoples money for it.  That being said, I’ve had a few people ask me to do things for them (engagement and maternity pictures) and doing things like that for everyone has helped me develop my skills even more. The majority of my photography is of my son, and yes I am a little trigger happy with the camera around him.  But it’s those pictures that I can look back at when he’s 20 to remember how adorable he was, and not such a huge pain in the butt.
Leave a Reply

