Summer Food Favs Pt 2

Sarah’s Summer Favs

One of my favourite and super quick side dishes for the BBQ season is this Ranch BLT Macaroni Salad

I’ve made it a few different ways.  With carrots and celery instead of tomatoes because my hubby doesn’t like tomato. As well as using a spicy Ranch dressing to give it a bit of a kick. It’s so quick and easy to throw together, and super tasty.  There’s never any leftovers at the end of the day.

Ingredients:
1lb macaroni pasta, cooked and drained
1 bottle Kraft Ranch dressing
3 medium tomatoes
1/2lb bacon, cooked and crumbled (when I was in a rush some days I would just be the pre-cooked bacon crumble instead of taking the time to cook fresh bacon)

Mix it all together, and refrigerate it for a bit to let all the flavours marinate.

 

Bonnie’s Summer Faves

My favourite summer side dish, potato salad. My family cannot get enough of this stuff… just ask my brother. My mother will make him an extra batch just so he can have a whole bowl to himself.

Ingredients:

1lb potatoes boiled and cubed or cut rustically to your preference.
Carrots diced or shredded
Red onions sliced thinly (I use red to make sure there is a bit of spice)
Celery diced
Toss all ingredients together, and let sit for a couple of minutes while you make the dressing

Dressing:
Miracle Whip (I usually put a half a cup per bowl but it is more to taste) (you can substitute with mayo if preferred)
1 tsp Onion salt
1 tsp garlic powder
1tsp pepper
1/4 tsp salt
and add any other seasoning you like, I sometimes put sundried tomato seasoning, or Mrs. Dash.

Mix all these together and then toss with the salad.
Garnish with parsley and paprika.
Refrigerate for half an hour and enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

