Recipe Alert!

I’m not usually the type of person to brag about the meals I’m cooking.  But what I made for dinner tonight is definitely worth sharing.

I’ve been trying to find new recipes to fill in for the normal dishes that are in our weekly  line up.  This one is going to take over one of the top spots in the go to dish list.

They’re call Meatloaf Melts. I discovered the recipe on “The Country Cook” blog.
It’s so easy, and the best part, it only takes couple dishes so there’s very little clean up!  I made a couple of small changes, I couldn’t find any sub buns when I went grocery shopping so I used garlic bread, and since my hubby isn’t fond of onion, I used some garlic powder instead of the minced onion.

Here’s what you need to add to your grocery list.

4 sub buns (6-inch)
1lbs lean ground beef (at least 90% lean)
1 1/4 cups crushed plain corn flakes or saltine crackers
1 egg
1/2 small onion, minced
1/2 cup milk
4 tbsp. ketchup (plus more for topping)
1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp. dried thyme
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
salt & pepper to taste (about a tsp. each)

For directions on how to make this meal check out The Country Cook: Meatloaf Melts

Meatloaf meltsPhoto courtesy of The Country Cook

4 thoughts on “Recipe Alert!

Leave a Reply

