Gone Girl – Book Review #1

Book Review #1 – Gone Girl Gillian Flynn

 Image

Photo Credit: http://gillian-flynn.com/gone-girl/

As I stated in my previous post I want to read 25 NEW books before the summer, I say the summer because I know that once the warm weather hits, I cannot promise to read much. Which is the opposite for a lot of people with beach reads and such, but I just don’t like to sit still during the summer.

So my first book of 2014 was Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. And all I have to say, is I started 2014’s reading with a bang!

I am not one to go with the “fads” of books; it took me almost four years to read the first Harry Potter, because there was so much hype behind it that I didn’t want to bother. (Don’t tell J.K Rolling that for the first four years the Harry Potter year one to three book set was my foot rest under my desk.) And the same went with Gone Girl, so many people are reading it, and talking about it, and with ignorance I also lumped it in with 50 Shades of Grey. (Which I will never read.)But after a friend of mine convinced me that, no this was my type of book, and one that I will not be able to put down, I gave it a try. And WOW was she right!

Here is the link to the description, and the author’s website. http://gillian-flynn.com/gone-girl/

As most of my friends will say I have a pension for figuring things out. I knew who Keyser Söze was the first time I saw The Usual Suspects. And I figured out the twist in the Sixth Sense, so on and so forth. The twist in this book, ya, I didn’t even see it coming. When it came, I had to reread the chapter just to make sure I didn’t miss something.

I would give this book 9 out of 10 on my scale of great books. The only reason I wouldn’t give it 10, is the fact that the main characters think very highly of themselves, I couldn’t get over the whining in some chapters, but sticking through it was worth it.

So if you are looking for a good read, I would recommend Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, but have a weekend that you don’t have anything else to do, because you won’t want to put it down!

Bonnie

Leave a Reply

